Previous Titles & Materials

2015-16: Station Eleven

station-elevenStation Eleven is the story of the Traveling Symphony, a troupe of Shakespearean actors and orchestral musicians traveling the shores of the Great Lakes in a post-apocalyptic Michigan. Striving to maintain their humanity in the altered landscape of a world where 99% of the population has been wiped out by a flu pandemic, the Traveling Symphony operates under one credo: “Survival is insufficient.”

Station Eleven is set in a world turned upside down, but is ultimately an exploration of people surviving and remaking their lives by preserving the qualities that make us human: culture, art, and the humanities.


Reader's Guide   Teacher's Guide Photo ReviewVideo

Click titles below to view previous years:

2013-14: Annie’s Ghosts: A Journey into a Family Secret

Annie’s Ghosts, by Detroit native and Washington Post Associate Editor Steve Luxenberg, is part memoir, part detective story, and part history. As the author tries to understand his mom’s reasons for hiding her sister’s existence, he takes readers on a journey into his mother’s world of the 1930s and ’40s, where he explores how a poor, immigrant family manages life with a child who has special needs.

Annie’s Ghosts is a story about family secrets, personal journeys, genealogy, mental disability and illness, poverty, and immigration. It is a story of re-framing one’s self-understanding once a family secret is revealed, providing insight into how our identities are shaped by learning something shockingly new about our family history.

Reader's Guide   Teacher's Guide

2011-12: Arc of Justice: A Saga of Race, Civil Rights, and Murder in the Jazz Age

 Arc of Justice, by Kevin Boyle, is a masterful recounting of a landmark historical event, culminating in an epic legal battle that helped lay the foundation of the civil rights movement.

In 1925, African American physician Ossian Sweet purchased a home in a white neighborhood in Detroit. Determined to protect his family and property, Sweet chose to defend himself from the mob organized to drive him out.

Arc of Justice provides essential historical background as Americans continue to confront issues of tolerance and equality.

Reader's Guide   Teacher's Guide Intro VideoHighlights Video

2009-10: Stealing Buddha’s Dinner: A Memoir

Stealing Buddha’s Dinner is a memoir that chronicles author Bich Minh Nguyen’s migration from Vietnam in 1975 and her coming of age in Grand Rapids, Michigan, in the 1980s. Along the way, she struggles to construct her own cultural identity from a menagerie of uniquely American influences.

Reader's Guide   Teacher's Guide

2007-08: The Nick Adams Stories

The Nick Adams Stories is a literary masterpiece literally made in Michigan. The author, Ernest Hemingway, spent the majority of his first 22 summers in Northern Michigan. These experiences played an essential role in his development as one of the world’s most significant writers.

The Nick Adams Stories chronicle a young man’s coming of age in a series of linked short stories. As Nick matures, he grapples with the complexities of adulthood, including war, death, marriage, and family.

Reader's Guide