Help Support Michigan Humanities

Board of Directors

2021 Council Meeting Dates

The meetings listed below will be held at the Michigan Humanities office or online from 10 a.m. to 12 p.m. (Eastern).

  • February 18
  • May 20
  • October 21

Michigan Humanities office address:
Woodland Office Park
2364 Woodlake Drive, Suite 100
Okemos, Michigan 48864


Board of Directors

1 Rena Richtig, Escanaba Catholic Faith Formations, Director   Bark River
2 Bill Alsover, Alsover Business Consulting, President Treasurer Newaygo
3 Celeste Diehm, Retired Principal  Chair Grand Rapids
4 Jenell Leonard, Marketing Resource Group, Inc., Owner   Dewitt
Paul Chaffee, Retired Journalist   Freeland
5 Julie Dorcey, Delta College Institutional Advancement, Foundation Manager   Saginaw
  Kathryn Curtiss Spence, Dow Corning Foundation, Retired   Saginaw
  Reverend Dr. Shannon Polk, Esq., Leadership Solutions, Owner   Grand Blanc
6 Petey Margaret Stephanak, Southwest Michigan First, Partner Secretary Kalamazoo
  Deanne Gavalis, Senior Advisor, PNC Wealth Management   Kalamazoo
8 April Clobes, MSU Federal Credit Union, CEO    Bath
  Colleen Graber, Public Policy Associates, COO   East Lansing
  Jade Sims, MSU Eli Broad College of Business, International Trade Specialist   Okemos
  Matthew L.M. Fletcher, Professor of Law, Michigan State University College of Law,
Director of the Indigenous Law and Policy Center
  East Lansing
9 Glenn Stevens, Jr., MICHauto, Executive Director, Detroit Regional Chamber   Beverly Hills
10 Jim Napolitano, Marketing Consultant, Firefighter/First Responder Vice Chair Dryden
12 Versell Smith, Jr., The Corner Health Center, Executive Director Past Chair Ann Arbor
  Matt Jaber Stiffler, PhD., Arab American National Museum, Research Content Manager Ann Arbor
  Ethriam Cash Brammer, Assistant Dean, Rackham Graduate School, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)   Ann Arbor
  Joseph Stanhope Cialdella, Academic Program Manager for Public Scholarship, University of Michigan (Ann Arbor)   Ann Arbor
13 Amisha S. Harijan, Librarian, Librarian III – Assistant Manager, Detroit Public Library (Detroit)   Detroit



3 Jennifer Rupp, Director of Federal and State Grants Marshall
4 Phyllis Rathbun, Executive Assistant Lansing
7 Shelly Hendrick Kasprzycki, President and CEO Jackson
8 Michelle Chrome, Chief Financial Officer Mason
  James Nelson, Director of Grants Haslett
  Carol Taggart, Director of Advancement Howell
  Katie Wittenauer, Director of Programs Okemos